Still Life

The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 5

Illustrated by Poly Bernatene
The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series--absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight--watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations--and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.
© Robert Meyer
A two-time Pushcart Prize nominee for poetry and author of the critically and kid-acclaimed Books of Elsewhere series, Jacqueline West lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband and their dog, Brom Bones. View titles by Jacqueline West
Poly Bernatene is an illustrator who graduated from Buenos Aires Art School and has worked across many different genres including advertising, animation, and comic books. He has published more than 60 children's books all over the world. He lives and works in Argentina. View titles by Poly Bernatene
PRIASE FOR THE BOOKS OF ELSEWHERE, VOL. 5: STILL LIFE:
“The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. . . . Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.”—SLJ 
*“This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support. . . . Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. . . . Order the series.”—VOYA (starred review)
"A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series."—Kirkus 
“West is a fine plot-spinner . . . Still Life winds up the McMartin saga with emotional complexity and suspense, and the denouement of the tale is generous and joyful.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune 
"It's like Coraline meets Harry Potter."—Nerdist 
“If you or your kids are enthralled by the darker side of storytelling—think Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl—then The Books of Elsewhere should be on your reading list. Full of magic, mystery, curiosity, and just enough danger . . . impossible to put down.”—Geekmom

About

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series--absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight--watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations--and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

Author

© Robert Meyer
A two-time Pushcart Prize nominee for poetry and author of the critically and kid-acclaimed Books of Elsewhere series, Jacqueline West lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband and their dog, Brom Bones. View titles by Jacqueline West
Poly Bernatene is an illustrator who graduated from Buenos Aires Art School and has worked across many different genres including advertising, animation, and comic books. He has published more than 60 children's books all over the world. He lives and works in Argentina. View titles by Poly Bernatene

Praise

PRIASE FOR THE BOOKS OF ELSEWHERE, VOL. 5: STILL LIFE:
“The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. . . . Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.”—SLJ 
*“This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support. . . . Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. . . . Order the series.”—VOYA (starred review)
"A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series."—Kirkus 
“West is a fine plot-spinner . . . Still Life winds up the McMartin saga with emotional complexity and suspense, and the denouement of the tale is generous and joyful.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune 
"It's like Coraline meets Harry Potter."—Nerdist 
“If you or your kids are enthralled by the darker side of storytelling—think Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl—then The Books of Elsewhere should be on your reading list. Full of magic, mystery, curiosity, and just enough danger . . . impossible to put down.”—Geekmom

Books for LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

In June we celebrate Pride Month, which honors the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan and highlights the accomplishments of those in the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, and Asexual + (LGBTQIA+) community, while recognizing the ongoing struggles faced by many across the world who wish to live as their most authentic selves. Here is

Read more

PRH Education High School Collections

All reading communities should contain protected time for the sake of reading. Independent reading practices emphasize the process of making meaning through reading, not an end product. The school culture (teachers, administration, etc.) should affirm this daily practice time as inherently important instructional time for all readers. (NCTE, 2019)   The Penguin Random House High

Read more

PRH Education Translanguaging Collections

Translanguaging is a communicative practice of bilinguals and multilinguals, that is, it is a practice whereby bilinguals and multilinguals use their entire linguistic repertoire to communicate and make meaning (García, 2009; García, Ibarra Johnson, & Seltzer, 2017)   It is through that lens that we have partnered with teacher educators and bilingual education experts, Drs.

Read more

PRH Education Classroom Libraries

“Books are a students’ passport to entering and actively participating in a global society with the empathy, compassion, and knowledge it takes to become the problem solvers the world needs.” –Laura Robb   Research shows that reading and literacy directly impacts students’ academic success and personal growth. To help promote the importance of daily independent

Read more