Marcus Vega no habla español / Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish

La búsqueda de su padre lleva a un joven a Puerto Rico en esta emotiva novela juvenil, perfecta para los fans de libros como Ghost y See You in the Cosmos.
 
Marcus Vega mide seis pies de altura, pesa 180 libras y luce un incipiente bigote. Cuando tienes esta apariencia y apenas estás en octavo grado, te conviertes en una figura imponente y, al mismo tiempo, en un blanco fácil.
 
Después de un altercado en la escuela que resulta en una suspensión para Marcus, su madre decide que es hora de un cambio de ambiente. Los lleva a él y a su hermano menor a Puerto Rico para pasar una semana con parientes a quienes apenas recuerdan o que nunca han conocido. Sin embargo, Marcus no puede concentrarse, ya que sabe que su padre, quien abandonó sus vidas hace diez años, se encuentra en algún lugar de la isla.
 
Así da inicio al increíble viaje de Marcus, una serie de peripecias que lo llevarán a recorrer todo Puerto Rico en busca de su esquivo homónimo. Marcus no sabe si algún día se reunirá con su padre, pero lo que finalmente descubre cambia su vida. Además, en el camino, aprende un poco de español.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle-grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos.
 
Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target.
 
After a fight at school leaves Marcus facing suspension, Marcus's mom decides it's time for a change of environment. She takes Marcus and his younger brother to Puerto Rico to spend a week with relatives they don't remember or have never met. But Marcus can't focus knowing that his father--who walked out of their lives ten years ago--is somewhere on the island.
 
So begins Marcus's incredible journey, a series of misadventures that take him all over Puerto Rico in search of his elusive namesake. Marcus doesn't know if he'll ever find his father, but what he ultimately discovers changes his life. And he even learns a bit of Spanish along the way.
Las novelas de Pablo Cartaya exploran la identidad, el lugar y los espacios intermedios. Su primera novela sobre un niño que defiende a su comunidad, El épico fracaso de Arturo Zamora, recibió críticas con tres estrellas y es un Libro de Honor del Pura Belpré 2018. Cuando Pablo no escribe, pasa tiempo con su familia o sueña con su próximo viaje a Puerto Rico. Conoce más sobre Pablo en pablocartaya.com y sígalo en Twitter @phcartaya.

About

La búsqueda de su padre lleva a un joven a Puerto Rico en esta emotiva novela juvenil, perfecta para los fans de libros como Ghost y See You in the Cosmos.
 
Marcus Vega mide seis pies de altura, pesa 180 libras y luce un incipiente bigote. Cuando tienes esta apariencia y apenas estás en octavo grado, te conviertes en una figura imponente y, al mismo tiempo, en un blanco fácil.
 
Después de un altercado en la escuela que resulta en una suspensión para Marcus, su madre decide que es hora de un cambio de ambiente. Los lleva a él y a su hermano menor a Puerto Rico para pasar una semana con parientes a quienes apenas recuerdan o que nunca han conocido. Sin embargo, Marcus no puede concentrarse, ya que sabe que su padre, quien abandonó sus vidas hace diez años, se encuentra en algún lugar de la isla.
 
Así da inicio al increíble viaje de Marcus, una serie de peripecias que lo llevarán a recorrer todo Puerto Rico en busca de su esquivo homónimo. Marcus no sabe si algún día se reunirá con su padre, pero lo que finalmente descubre cambia su vida. Además, en el camino, aprende un poco de español.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle-grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos.
 
Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target.
 
After a fight at school leaves Marcus facing suspension, Marcus's mom decides it's time for a change of environment. She takes Marcus and his younger brother to Puerto Rico to spend a week with relatives they don't remember or have never met. But Marcus can't focus knowing that his father--who walked out of their lives ten years ago--is somewhere on the island.
 
So begins Marcus's incredible journey, a series of misadventures that take him all over Puerto Rico in search of his elusive namesake. Marcus doesn't know if he'll ever find his father, but what he ultimately discovers changes his life. And he even learns a bit of Spanish along the way.

Author

Las novelas de Pablo Cartaya exploran la identidad, el lugar y los espacios intermedios. Su primera novela sobre un niño que defiende a su comunidad, El épico fracaso de Arturo Zamora, recibió críticas con tres estrellas y es un Libro de Honor del Pura Belpré 2018. Cuando Pablo no escribe, pasa tiempo con su familia o sueña con su próximo viaje a Puerto Rico. Conoce más sobre Pablo en pablocartaya.com y sígalo en Twitter @phcartaya.

Books for LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

In June we celebrate Pride Month, which honors the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan and highlights the accomplishments of those in the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, and Asexual + (LGBTQIA+) community, while recognizing the ongoing struggles faced by many across the world who wish to live as their most authentic selves. Here is

Read more

PRH Education High School Collections

All reading communities should contain protected time for the sake of reading. Independent reading practices emphasize the process of making meaning through reading, not an end product. The school culture (teachers, administration, etc.) should affirm this daily practice time as inherently important instructional time for all readers. (NCTE, 2019)   The Penguin Random House High

Read more

PRH Education Translanguaging Collections

Translanguaging is a communicative practice of bilinguals and multilinguals, that is, it is a practice whereby bilinguals and multilinguals use their entire linguistic repertoire to communicate and make meaning (García, 2009; García, Ibarra Johnson, & Seltzer, 2017)   It is through that lens that we have partnered with teacher educators and bilingual education experts, Drs.

Read more

PRH Education Classroom Libraries

“Books are a students’ passport to entering and actively participating in a global society with the empathy, compassion, and knowledge it takes to become the problem solvers the world needs.” –Laura Robb   Research shows that reading and literacy directly impacts students’ academic success and personal growth. To help promote the importance of daily independent

Read more