Witches of Brooklyn

(A Graphic Novel)

Look inside
Paperback
$13.99 US
5.56"W x 8"H x 0.73"D  
On sale Sep 01, 2020 | 240 Pages | 978-0-593-11927-3
| Grades 3-7
Reading Level: Lexile GN320L | Fountas & Pinnell U
There's a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family.

A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends.

Could there really be witches in Brooklyn?!

Effie's aunts are weird. Like, really WEIRD. Really, really, really WEIRD! The secretly-magic kind of weird and that makes Effie wonder . . . does this mean she can do magic, too?

Life in Brooklyn takes a strange twist for Effie as she learns more about her family and herself. With new friends who will do whatever they can to be there for her, a cursed pop-star, and her magically-inclined aunts--Effie's life is about to get interesting.
Sophie Escabasse lives in Montreal with her husband and three children and their black cat, Terrence. Previously from Brooklyn, Sophie travels constantly and is thrilled to talk about her love of stories with school and bookstores. She has illustrated many books for middle-grade readers, including her bestselling graphic novel series Witches of Brooklyn. She has been a graphic novel lover for as long as she can remember, and she enjoys fun and expressive characters. @essoffi View titles by Sophie Escabasse

Educator Guide for Witches of Brooklyn

Classroom-based guides appropriate for schools and colleges provide pre-reading and classroom activities, discussion questions connected to the curriculum, further reading, and resources.

(Please note: the guide displayed here is the most recently uploaded version; while unlikely, any page citation discrepancies between the guide and book is likely due to pagination differences between a book’s different formats.)

Classroom Activities for Witches of Brooklyn

Classroom activities supplement discussion and traditional lessons with group projects and creative tasks. Can be used in pre-existing units and lessons, or as stand-alone.

(Please note: the guide displayed here is the most recently uploaded version; while unlikely, any page citation discrepancies between the guide and book is likely due to pagination differences between a book’s different formats.)

  • SELECTION | 2021
    Bank Street College Best Children's Book of the Year
“A mixture of everyday adventures and enchanting fantasy, this lighthearted story will delight readers.” —Kirkus Reviews

A warm story of found family and healing that stands on its own while setting the stage for further adventures.” —Publisher’s Weekly

“A focus on growth and change rather than struggle… An anticipated sequel will likely be welcomed by fantasy and graphic novel fans eager to see what adventures await the young witch.” —The Bulletin

“Lighthearted, sweet, and entertaining.” —The Horn Book

"A charming middle-grade take on Sabrina the Teenage Witch that only scratches the surface of this new series’ enormous potential." —Booklist

About

There's a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family.

A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends.

Could there really be witches in Brooklyn?!

Effie's aunts are weird. Like, really WEIRD. Really, really, really WEIRD! The secretly-magic kind of weird and that makes Effie wonder . . . does this mean she can do magic, too?

Life in Brooklyn takes a strange twist for Effie as she learns more about her family and herself. With new friends who will do whatever they can to be there for her, a cursed pop-star, and her magically-inclined aunts--Effie's life is about to get interesting.

Author

Sophie Escabasse lives in Montreal with her husband and three children and their black cat, Terrence. Previously from Brooklyn, Sophie travels constantly and is thrilled to talk about her love of stories with school and bookstores. She has illustrated many books for middle-grade readers, including her bestselling graphic novel series Witches of Brooklyn. She has been a graphic novel lover for as long as she can remember, and she enjoys fun and expressive characters. @essoffi View titles by Sophie Escabasse

Guides

Educator Guide for Witches of Brooklyn

Classroom-based guides appropriate for schools and colleges provide pre-reading and classroom activities, discussion questions connected to the curriculum, further reading, and resources.

(Please note: the guide displayed here is the most recently uploaded version; while unlikely, any page citation discrepancies between the guide and book is likely due to pagination differences between a book’s different formats.)

Classroom Activities for Witches of Brooklyn

Classroom activities supplement discussion and traditional lessons with group projects and creative tasks. Can be used in pre-existing units and lessons, or as stand-alone.

(Please note: the guide displayed here is the most recently uploaded version; while unlikely, any page citation discrepancies between the guide and book is likely due to pagination differences between a book’s different formats.)

Awards

  • SELECTION | 2021
    Bank Street College Best Children's Book of the Year

Praise

“A mixture of everyday adventures and enchanting fantasy, this lighthearted story will delight readers.” —Kirkus Reviews

A warm story of found family and healing that stands on its own while setting the stage for further adventures.” —Publisher’s Weekly

“A focus on growth and change rather than struggle… An anticipated sequel will likely be welcomed by fantasy and graphic novel fans eager to see what adventures await the young witch.” —The Bulletin

“Lighthearted, sweet, and entertaining.” —The Horn Book

"A charming middle-grade take on Sabrina the Teenage Witch that only scratches the surface of this new series’ enormous potential." —Booklist

Books for LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

In June we celebrate Pride Month, which honors the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan and highlights the accomplishments of those in the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, and Asexual + (LGBTQIA+) community, while recognizing the ongoing struggles faced by many across the world who wish to live as their most authentic selves. Here is

Read more

PRH Education High School Collections

All reading communities should contain protected time for the sake of reading. Independent reading practices emphasize the process of making meaning through reading, not an end product. The school culture (teachers, administration, etc.) should affirm this daily practice time as inherently important instructional time for all readers. (NCTE, 2019)   The Penguin Random House High

Read more

PRH Education Translanguaging Collections

Translanguaging is a communicative practice of bilinguals and multilinguals, that is, it is a practice whereby bilinguals and multilinguals use their entire linguistic repertoire to communicate and make meaning (García, 2009; García, Ibarra Johnson, & Seltzer, 2017)   It is through that lens that we have partnered with teacher educators and bilingual education experts, Drs.

Read more

PRH Education Classroom Libraries

“Books are a students’ passport to entering and actively participating in a global society with the empathy, compassion, and knowledge it takes to become the problem solvers the world needs.” –Laura Robb   Research shows that reading and literacy directly impacts students’ academic success and personal growth. To help promote the importance of daily independent

Read more

New Thematic Educator Guides: Teaching with Graphic Fiction and Nonfiction

Comics hold a special place in the literary landscape of schools, but as a form or medium, comics don’t often get a lot of teacher approval. In fact, some research has found that teachers are afraid they won’t be taken seriously if they use comics in their classes. But, here’s the thing: teachers who have

Read more