Celebrating Juneteenth

By Luis Diaz | June 9 2022 | General

Juneteenth is the oldest nationally celebrated commemoration of the ending of slavery in the United States. It commemorates June 19, 1865, when Union troops arrived in Galveston, Texas, to announce the freedom of the more than 250,000 enslaved Black people in Texas. The newly freed Black Americans observed Juneteenth as a celebration of freedom and its fulfillment. Juneteenth, also known as Freedom Day or Jubilee Day, is marked by celebrations, family gatherings, picnics, and readings of the Emancipation Proclamation as a measure of progress against freedom.

As Juneteenth is an occasion for reflection and education, we celebrate the end of slavery in America and acknowledge the profound contributions of Black people to American history and culture. We are amplifying stories that highlight Black joy, not to disregard the realities of racism and injustice but to engage with the Black experience in America in a way that is full, balanced, and truthful.

Penguin Random House is donating 100% of net proceeds of Juneteenth sales on PRH.com (up to $30K total) to a fund benefitting Black-owned Bookstores and The Innocence Project, which aims to “free the innocent, prevent wrongful convictions, and create fair, compassionate, and equitable systems of justice for everyone.”

Click on each collection below to browse books by Black creators that educate, empower, and inspire students in the classroom year-round.

HISTORY

FAMILY & CULTURE

FICTION

POETRY

SOCIAL JUSTICE

THE ARTS

FANTASY & SCIENCE FICTION

PICTURE BOOKS


What the Fireflies Knew
A Novel
978-0-593-18534-6
A coming-of-age novel told from the perspective of eleven-year-old KB, as she and her sister try, over the course of a summer, to make sense of their new life with their estranged grandfather after the death of their father and disappearance of their mother
$26.00 US
Feb 01, 2022
Hardcover
288 Pages
Tiny Reparations Books

The Young Crusaders
The Untold Story of the Children and Teenagers Who Galvanized the Civil Rights Movement
978-0-8070-4007-2
An authoritative history of the overlooked youth activists that spearheaded the largest protests of the Civil Rights Movement and set the blueprint for future generations of activists to follow.
$29.95 US
Feb 23, 2021
Hardcover
328 Pages
Beacon Press

Civil Rights Queen
Constance Baker Motley and the Struggle for Equality
978-1-5247-4718-3
The first major biography of one of our most influential but least known activist lawyers that provides an eye-opening account of the twin struggles for gender equality and civil rights in the 20th century.
$30.00 US
Jan 25, 2022
Hardcover
512 Pages
Pantheon

Respect the Mic
Celebrating 20 Years of Poetry from a Chicagoland High School
978-0-593-22681-0
An expansive, moving poetry anthology, representing 20 years of poetry from students and alumni of Chicago's Oak Park River Forest High School Spoken Word Club.
$16.99 US
Feb 01, 2022
Hardcover
176 Pages
Penguin Workshop

The Swag Is in the Socks
978-0-593-38086-4
Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone and The Parker Inheritance.
$16.99 US
Nov 02, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers

The Black History Book
Big Ideas Simply Explained
DK
978-0-7440-4214-6
Discover the rich and complex history of the peoples of Africa, and the struggles and triumphs of Black cultures and communities around the world.    
$25.00 US
Nov 23, 2021
Hardcover
336 Pages
DK