Books for National Bullying Prevention Month

By Luis Diaz | September 8 2022 | General

Penguin Random House Education is proud to celebrate National Bullying Prevention Month, which takes place annually in October. We are highlighting works that raise awareness as to the effects that bullying can have on young people and how to be a better ally to those who might be a target of bullying.

Here is a selection of titles that we encourage you to share with your students this month and beyond:

National Bullying Prevention Month – Middle School

National Bullying Prevention Month – High School

Allies
Real Talk About Showing Up, Screwing Up, And Trying Again
978-0-7440-6665-4
This book is for everyone. Because we can all be allies.As an ally, you use your power—no matter how big or small—to support others. You learn, and try, and mess up, and try harder. In this collection of true stories, 17 critically acclaimed and bestselling YA authors get real about being an ally, needing an ally, and showing up for friends and strangers. From raw stories of racism and invisible disability to powerful moments of passing the mic, these authors share their truths. They invite you to think about your own experiences and choices and how to be a better ally.There are no easy answers, but this book helps you ask better questions. Self-reflection prompts, resources, journaling ideas, and further reading suggestions help you find out what you can do. Because we’re all in this together. And we all need allies. A portion of the proceeds from this book goes to supporting charities. 
$12.99 US
Sep 06, 2022
Paperback
240 Pages
DK Children

Man o' War
978-0-593-35370-7
An achingly honest and frequently hilarious coming-of-age novel about an Arab American trans swimmer fighting to keep their head above water in a landlocked Midwestern town.
$18.99 US
May 31, 2022
Hardcover
336 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers

Sticks and Stones
Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy
978-0-8129-8263-3
Being a teenager has never been easy, but in recent years, with the rise of the Internet and social media, it has become exponentially more challenging. Bullying, once thought of as the province of queen bees and goons, has taken on new, complex, and insidious forms, as parents and educators know all too well.
$18.00 US
Feb 11, 2014
Paperback
416 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks

Chlorine Sky
978-0-593-17639-9
"An absolute masterpiece." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet XFrom the first ever poet-in-residence at Lincoln Center comes a bold coming-of-age story told in verse about a young woman who loses a best friend, but finds herself in the process. The joys of basketball, the tumult of high school, and the bonds of family are lyrically woven together in this must-read novel.
$17.99 US
Jan 12, 2021
Hardcover
192 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers

The Saturday Night Ghost Club
A Novel
978-0-14-313393-3
A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends
$17.00 US
Jul 09, 2019
Paperback
224 Pages
Penguin Books

Project X
A Novel
978-1-4000-3348-5
In the wilderness of junior high, Edwin Hanratty is at the bottom of the food chain. His teachers find him a nuisance. His fellow students consider him prey. And although his parents are not oblivious to his troubles, they can’t quite bring themselves to fathom the ruthless forces that demoralize him daily.
$17.00 US
Apr 12, 2005
Paperback
176 Pages
Vintage

Finding My Voice
978-1-64129-290-0
The groundbreaking Own Voices YA classic from Korean-American author Marie Myung-Ok Lee, reissued with a new foreword from Wicked Fox author Kat Cho.
$10.99 US
Nov 02, 2021
Paperback
192 Pages
Soho Teen