Books for National Poetry Month

By Luis Diaz | March 9 2023 | English Language Arts

April is National Poetry Month, reminding us of poetry’s important role in our culture and in our classrooms. We are celebrating by showcasing a few titles that highlight the lives and work of inspiring poets.

 


Discover more titles

Poetry Titles for Middle School

Poetry Titles for High School


 

Time Is a Mother
978-0-593-30023-7
The highly anticipated collection of poems from the award-winning writer Ocean Vuong
$24.00 US
Apr 05, 2022
Hardcover
128 Pages
Penguin Press

When We Make It
A Nuyorican Novel
978-0-593-32450-9
An Indies Introduce and Next List young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to "make it," touching on themes of mental illness, sexual assault, food insecurity and gentrification, for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.
$11.99 US
Aug 30, 2022
Paperback
384 Pages
Dial Books

Dear Medusa
(A Novel in Verse)
978-0-593-48573-6
This searing and intimate novel in verse follows a sixteen-year-old girl coping with sexual abuse as she grapples with how to reclaim her story, her anger, and her body in a world that seems determined to punish her for the sin of surviving."This is more than a story about sexual violence—this book is about race, sexuality, love, and how anger can be a catalyst for healing."—Gabrielle Union, bestselling author, actress, and producer
$18.99 US
Mar 14, 2023
Hardcover
384 Pages
Labyrinth Road

Little Poems
978-0-593-53630-8
From Sappho and Li Bai to Sandra Cisneros and Ocean Vuong: a pocket-sized treasury of tiny, jewel-like poems from around the world and through the ages.
$18.00 US
Mar 14, 2023
Hardcover
256 Pages
Everyman's Library

Walking Gentry Home
A Memoir of My Foremothers in Verse
978-0-593-49800-2
An acclaimed young poet traces the lives of her foremothers in Western Tennessee, from those enslaved centuries ago to her grandmother, her mother, and finally her own life, in this stunning debut celebrating Black girlhood and womanhood.
$18.00 US
Aug 02, 2022
Paperback
240 Pages
Hogarth

How to Love a Country
Poems
978-0-8070-4307-3
From the renowned inaugural poet, a collection exploring immigration, gun violence, racism, LGBTQ issues, and more, in accessible and emotive verses.
$15.00 US
Mar 24, 2020
Paperback
112 Pages
Beacon Press

Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head
Poems
978-0-593-13435-1
Poems of migration, womanhood, trauma, and resilience from the celebrated collaborator on Beyoncé's Lemonade and Black Is King, award-winning Somali British poet Warsan Shire.
$17.00 US
Mar 01, 2022
Paperback
96 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks

Measure for Measure
An Anthology of Poetic Meters
978-0-375-71248-7
This comprehensive and joyous celebration of metered verse—from Shakespeare to slam poetry—brings together some of the best rhythmic lines in literature.
$14.95 US
Mar 31, 2015
Hardcover
256 Pages
Everyman's Library

Illumination
Poetry to Light Up the Darkness
978-0-593-19136-1
An inspiring and beautiful collection of poems to give you strength, arm you for hardship, and remind you that you're always growing, from the bestselling author of Chasers of the Light.
$18.00 US
Mar 30, 2021
Hardcover
160 Pages
TarcherPerigee