New Thematic Educator Guide: Teaching About the Holocaust & Global Genocides

By Kaitlyn Spotts | August 19 2021 | GeneralHigh SchoolMiddle School

According to a recent study commissioned by the Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany (Claims Conference) and reported by The Guardian, nearly 25% of young adults in America either believe the Holocaust is a myth, think it has been exaggerated, or are not sure. These findings are particularly alarming given that the number of living survivors—the most compelling evidence of the Holocaust—is quickly diminishing.

The titles in this collection include memoirs, historical fiction, psychological explorations, and graphic novels that chronicle the memories and personal experiences of Holocaust and Global Genocide victims and survivors. The collection provides a variety of genres to ensure broad appeal for today’s middle and high school students. Teachers can choose to select individual or multiple texts depending on reading level, thematic consideration, or instructional goals.

Essential questions are provided to frame the study of these complex texts, and conversation starters serve as prompts for close reading and collaborative discussion. Activities apply to all titles and can be adapted to whole class or small group settings such as seminars or literature circles. Student readers will be compelled to face history, confront truths, consider their own stories, and define their future roles in a society very much in danger of forgetting or repeating history.

Click here to download the free guide.

 

The Diary of a Young Girl
The Definitive Edition
978-0-553-57712-9
Edited by Otto H. Frank and Mirjam Pressler, the Definitive Edition of Anne Frank's diary features 30% new material. It restores all of the entries omitted from previous publications-including Anne's observations about her emerging sexuality and her stormy relationship with her mother.
$7.99 US
Feb 03, 1997
Mass Market Paperback
400 Pages
Bantam
Grades 6-12 + AP/IB

The Book Thief
978-0-375-84220-7
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.
$14.99 US
Sep 11, 2007
Paperback
608 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Grade 7 & Up

Between Shades of Gray
978-0-14-242059-1
An international bestseller, a #1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture! Ruta Sepetys's Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow!"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington PostFrom New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival. A New York Times notable bookAn international bestsellerA Carnegie Medal nominee A William C. Morris Award finalistA Golden Kite Award winner Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.Praise for Between Shades of Gray:"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review
$11.99 US
Apr 03, 2012
Paperback
384 Pages
Penguin Books
Grade 7 & Up

Franci's War
A Woman's Story of Survival
978-0-14-313557-9
The engrossing memoir of a spirited and glamorous young fashion designer who survived World War ll, with an afterword by her daughter, Helen Epstein.
$18.00 US
Mar 17, 2020
Paperback
272 Pages
Penguin Books
Grades 9-12 + AP/IB

Man's Search for Meaning: Young Adult Edition
Young Adult Edition
978-0-8070-6799-4
A young adult edition of the bestselling classic about the Holocaust and finding meaning in suffering, with a photo insert, a glossary of terms, a chronology of Frankl's life, supplementary letters and speeches, and an introduction by renowned YA author John Boyne.
$10.99 US
Apr 25, 2017
Paperback
192 Pages
Beacon Press
Grades 6-12