New Thematic Educator Guides: Teaching About Anxiety and Mindfulness

By Kaitlyn Spotts | January 26 2022 | GeneralHigh SchoolMiddle School

A 2019 publication from the National Education Association calls anxiety “the mental health tsunami” of the teenage years. That same year, a Pew survey revealed over seventy percent of teens believe anxiety and depression to be a “major problem” among friends and classmates. Possible causes are numerous, including social media, standardized testing, and the pressure to perform toward future college and career success. The results of these stressors are panic attacks, headaches, stomach issues, and self-medication via drugs and alcohol.

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic and its catastrophic impact on students and schools, educators are more aware than ever before that their role reaches beyond content and instruction and that integrating social-emotional learning into the curriculum is critical if they want their students to succeed.

Our Teaching About Anxiety & Mindfulness Middle School guide includes texts set to provide simple yet effective life skills and routines middle schoolers can use to listen to and calm their minds and bodies, as well as relatable characters who work towards solutions for stress. Teachers can choose one or any combination of books and strategies to use with whole-class instruction, literature circles, or independent reading as they work to build a supportive, inclusive environment where emotions matter.

The Building Teacher Knowledge Around Anxiety & Mindfulness guide includes texts set to build teacher knowledge around the topics of anxiety, mindfulness, and specific strategies that help children develop self-awareness and school success. These texts are excellent choices for teacher book circles, where educators can connect the research, scenarios, and stories to their own students and classrooms. Teachers can choose to read one or any combination of the texts in this set and apply any of the activities in their book circles and classrooms.

Download the free Teaching About Anxiety & Mindfulness Middle School Guide

Download the free Building Teacher Knowledge Around Anxiety & Mindfulness Guide

The Anti-Book
978-0-525-55241-3
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Name of This Book Is Secret comes a darkly funny story about a boy who wants the world to disappear. This fantastical quest for comfort and belonging was called “a surprisingly powerful, formula-breaking coming-of-age story” by the New York Times.
$17.99 US
Apr 06, 2021
Hardcover
320 Pages
Rocky Pond Books

Just Roll with It
(A Graphic Novel)
978-0-593-12541-0
Starting middle school is hard enough when you don't know anyone; it's even harder when you're shy. A contemporary middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Guts and Real Friends about how dealing with anxiety and OCD can affect everyday life.
$20.99 US
Dec 14, 2021
Hardcover
336 Pages
Random House Graphic

Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom
978-0-593-20697-3
For fans of the Aru Shah and Serpent's Secret series, this action-packed fantasy-adventure sees a girl's drawings of Indian mythology spring to vivid life--including the evil god who seeks to enter the real world and destroy it.
$17.99 US
Jul 06, 2021
Hardcover
352 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers

Superpowered
Transform Anxiety into Courage, Confidence, and Resilience
978-0-593-12639-4
The first of its kind! This how-to book from two psychology experts--packed with fun graphics and quizzes--will help kids transform stress, worry, and anxiety by uncovering their inner superpowers. Perfect for fans of The Confidence Code for Girls and Raina Telgemeier's Guts.
$17.99 US
Sep 22, 2020
Hardcover
336 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers

Anxiety Relief for Teens
Essential CBT Skills and Mindfulness Practices to Overcome Anxiety and Stress
978-0-593-19664-9
Is anxiety disrupting your life? With proven CBT-based skills and mindfulness techniques, this book can be your guide out of the spiraling stress of anxiety and get you back on track to living a happy and healthy life.
$17.99 US
Mar 31, 2020
Paperback
192 Pages
Zeitgeist Young Adult

Under Pressure
Confronting the Epidemic of Stress and Anxiety in Girls
978-0-399-18007-1
An urgently-needed guide to the alarming increase in anxiety and stress experienced by girls from elementary school through college, a New York Times bestseller from the author of Untangled.
$17.00 US
Feb 11, 2020
Paperback
304 Pages
Ballantine Books

Salt in My Soul
An Unfinished Life
978-1-9848-5544-2
The diaries of a remarkable young woman who was determined to live a meaningful and happy life despite her struggle with cystic fibrosis and a rare superbug—from age fifteen to her death at the age of twenty-five
$17.00 US
Jan 28, 2020
Paperback
336 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks

Notes on a Nervous Planet
978-0-14-313342-1
A follow-up to Matt Haig's internationally bestselling memoir, Reasons to Stay Alive, a broader look at how modern life feeds our anxiety, and how to live a better life.
$16.00 US
Jan 29, 2019
Paperback
304 Pages
Penguin Life