Penguin Random House ALA Award Winners & Honorees for Secondary Education

By Kaitlyn Spotts | February 9 2022 | GeneralConferences

The American Library Association (ALA) announced their 2022 literary award winners and honorees during LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience. Below you can find a selection of Penguin Random House titles that were among the winners.

 

To see which Elementary School titles were honored, click here.

 

Alex Award

The Witch’s Heart

Lore Olympus: Volume One

Malice

Explore our Alex Award collection here

 

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award Winner

Ambushed!

 

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award Finalist

The Woman All Spies Fear

 

Coretta Scott King Book Award Author Honor

Home Is Not a Country

 

Printz Award Honor

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

 

Stonewall YA Book Award Winner

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

 

Schneider Family Book Award Best Middle Grade Book Winner

A Bird Will Soar

 

Schneider Family Book Award Best Middle Grade Book Honor

A Kind of Spark

 

Sydney Taylor Book Award Middle Grade Winner

How to Find What You’re Not Looking For

 

Sydney Taylor Book Award Young Adult Honor

The Summer of Lost Letters

Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero

 

American Indian Youth Literature Award Young Adult Honor

Notable Native People

 

Asian/Pacific American Youth Award Winner

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

  

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

A Little Devil in America

 

ALA Notable Books Fiction

Hell of a Book

Klara and the Sun

Matrix

 

ALA Notable Books Nonfiction

A Little Devil in America

Empire of Pain

Four Hundred Souls

 

RUSA Reading List Historical Fiction

The Witch’s Heart

 

RUSA Reading List Historical Fiction

A Tip for the Hangman

 

RUSA Reading List Mystery Science Fiction

Project Hail Mary

The Witch's Heart
978-0-593-10119-3
When a banished witch falls in love with legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology, now in trade paperback.
$17.00 US
Nov 30, 2021
Paperback
368 Pages
Ace

Lore Olympus: Volume One
978-0-593-16029-9
Scandalous gossip, wild parties, and forbidden love--the Greek tale of Hades and Persephone gets a romantic modern update in the gorgeously illustrated, Eisner-nominated Lore Olympus, including a brand new, exclusive short story!
$26.99 US
Nov 02, 2021
Hardcover
384 Pages
Random House Worlds

Malice
978-1-9848-1867-6
A princess isn't supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this darkly magical retelling of "Sleeping Beauty," true love is more than a simple fairy tale. “Walter’s spellbinding debut is for all the queer girls and women who’ve been told to keep their gifts hidden and for those yearning to defy gravity.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
$17.00 US
Feb 01, 2022
Paperback
496 Pages
Del Rey

Ambushed!
The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield
978-1-68437-814-2
This thrilling title for young readers blends science, history, and medical mysteries to tell the story of the assassination and ultimately horrible death of President James Garfield.
$19.99 US
Oct 12, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Calkins Creek

The Woman All Spies Fear
Code Breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and Her Hidden Life
978-0-593-12719-3
For fans of Hidden Figures here is a story about an American woman who pioneered codebreaking in WWI and WWII but was only recently recognized for her extraordinary contributions. A YALSA EXCELLENCE IN NONFICTION FINALIST • A KIRKUS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
$18.99 US
Oct 26, 2021
Hardcover
336 Pages
Random House Studio

Home Is Not a Country
978-0-593-17708-2
A mesmerizing novel in verse about family, identity, and finding yourself in the most unexpected places--for fans of The Poet X, I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, and Jason Reynolds.
$10.99 US
Feb 22, 2022
Paperback
224 Pages
Make Me a World


A Kind of Spark
978-0-593-37425-2
Perfect for readers of Song for a Whale and Counting by 7s, a neurodivergent girl campaigns for a memorial when she learns that her small Scottish town used to burn witches simply because they were different.
$16.99 US
Oct 19, 2021
Hardcover
192 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers

How to Find What You're Not Looking For
978-0-525-55503-2
New historical fiction from a Newbery Honor–winning author about how middle schooler Ariel Goldberg's life changes when her big sister elopes following the 1967 Loving v. Virginia decision, and she's forced to grapple with both her family's prejudice and the antisemitism she experiences, as she defines her own beliefs.
$17.99 US
Sep 14, 2021
Hardcover
384 Pages
Kokila

The Summer of Lost Letters
978-0-593-34972-4
Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Ruta Sepetys, this sweet, summery romance set in Nantucket follows seventeen-year-old Abby Schoenberg as she uncovers a secret about her grandmother's life during WWII.
$18.99 US
Jun 15, 2021
Hardcover
384 Pages
Razorbill

Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero
978-1-4012-9322-2
From New York Times bestselling author E. Lockhart (Genuine Fraud, We Were Liars) and artist Manuel Preitano (The Oracle Code) comes a new Gotham City superhero in this exciting YA graphic novel.
$16.99 US
Sep 07, 2021
Paperback
208 Pages
DC Comics

Notable Native People
50 Indigenous Leaders, Dreamers, and Changemakers from Past and Present
978-1-9848-5794-1
An accessible and educational illustrated book profiling 50 notable American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian people, from NBA star Kyrie Irving of the Standing Rock Lakota to Wilma Mankiller, the first female principal chief of the Cherokee Nation.
$18.99 US
Oct 19, 2021
Hardcover
144 Pages
Ten Speed Press

A Little Devil in America
Notes in Praise of Black Performance
978-1-9848-0119-7
From Hanif Abdurraqib, the New York Times bestselling author of Go Ahead in the Rain, comes a stirring meditation on the modes of black performance in America.
$27.00 US
Mar 30, 2021
Hardcover
320 Pages
Random House

Hell of a Book
A Novel
978-0-593-33096-8
An astounding work of fiction from a New York Times bestselling author, always deeply honest and at times electrically funny, that goes to the heart of racism, police violence, and the hidden costs exacted upon Black Americans, and America as a whole
$27.00 US
Jun 29, 2021
Hardcover
336 Pages
Dutton

Klara and the Sun
A novel
978-0-593-31129-5
Here is the story of Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, who, from her place in the store, watches carefully the behavior of those who come in to browse, and of those who pass on the street outside. She remains hopeful that a customer will soon choose her. Klara and the Sun is a thrilling book that offers a look at our changing world through the eyes of an unforgettable narrator, and one that explores the fundamental question: what does it mean to love?
$16.95 US
Mar 01, 2022
Paperback
320 Pages
Vintage

Matrix
A Novel
978-1-59463-449-9
One of our best American writers, Lauren Groff returns with her exhilarating first new novel since the groundbreaking Fates and Furies.
$28.00 US
Sep 07, 2021
Hardcover
272 Pages
Riverhead Books

Empire of Pain
The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty
978-0-385-54568-6
Empire of Pain is a grand, devastating portrait of three generations of the Sackler family, famed for their philanthropy, whose fortune was built by Valium and whose reputation was destroyed by OxyContin.
$32.50 US
Apr 13, 2021
Hardcover
560 Pages
Doubleday

Four Hundred Souls
A Community History of African America, 1619-2019
978-0-593-44934-9
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - A "choral history" of African Americans covering 400 years of history in the voices of 90 writers, edited by the bestselling, National Book Award-winning historian Ibram X. Kendi and award-winning historian Keisha N. Blain.
$20.00 US
Feb 01, 2022
Paperback
528 Pages
One World

A Tip for the Hangman
A Novel
978-0-593-31134-9
An Elizabethan espionage thriller in which playwright Christopher Marlowe spies on Mary, Queen of Scots while navigating the perils of politics, theater, romance—and murder. Here "Marlowe [is] supremely capable, something of a trickster, a consummate liar, a fiendish lover—and someone capable of murder ... The suspense is palpable, as is the sense of doom, as Marlowe finds himself in thrall to a devil’s bargain" (The New York Times Book Review).
$17.00 US
Jan 04, 2022
Paperback
384 Pages
Anchor

Project Hail Mary
A Novel
978-0-593-13520-4
A lone astronaut must save the earth from disaster in this incredible new science-based thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Martian.
$28.99 US
May 04, 2021
Hardcover
496 Pages
Ballantine Books

Tags: ,