Books for National Poetry Month

By Luis Diaz | April 14 2022 | General

April is National Poetry Month, reminding us of poetry’s important role in our culture and in our classrooms. We are celebrating by appreciating a few titles that highlight the lives and work of inspiring poets.

 


Discover more titles

Poetry Titles for Middle School

Poetry Titles for High School


 

Call Us What We Carry
Poems
978-0-593-46506-6
The luminous poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman captures a shipwrecked moment in time and transforms it into a lyric of hope and healing.
$24.99 US
Dec 07, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Viking Books

Home Is Not a Country
978-0-593-17708-2
A mesmerizing novel in verse about family, identity, and finding yourself in the most unexpected places--for fans of The Poet X, I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, and Jason Reynolds.
$10.99 US
Feb 22, 2022
Paperback
224 Pages
Make Me a World

Illumination
Poetry to Light Up the Darkness
978-0-593-19136-1
An inspiring and beautiful collection of poems to give you strength, arm you for hardship, and remind you that you're always growing, from the bestselling author of Chasers of the Light.
$18.00 US
Mar 30, 2021
Hardcover
160 Pages
TarcherPerigee

If They Come for Us
Poems
978-0-525-50978-3
From a co-creator of the Emmy-nominated web series Brown Girls comes an imaginative, soulful debut poetry that collection captures the experiences of being a young Pakistani Muslim woman in contemporary America.
$16.00 US
Aug 07, 2018
Paperback
128 Pages
One World

Machete
Poems
978-0-593-31964-2
“Dios aprieta, pero no ahorca” (“God squeezes, but He doesn't strangle”)—the epigraph of Machete—sets the stage for a powerful poet who summons a variety of ways to endure life when there’s an invisible hand at your throat. Tomás Morín hails from the coastal plains of Texas, and explores a world where identity and place shift like that ever-changing shore.
$27.00 US
Oct 12, 2021
Hardcover
96 Pages
Knopf

How to Love a Country
Poems
978-0-8070-4307-3
From the renowned inaugural poet, a collection exploring immigration, gun violence, racism, LGBTQ issues, and more, in accessible and emotive verses.
$15.00 US
Mar 24, 2020
Paperback
112 Pages
Beacon Press

Rose, Where Did You Get That Red?
Teaching Great Poetry to Children
978-0-679-72471-1
First published to enormous acclaim in 1973, this book became a classic that revolutionized the way children are taught to read and write poetry. The celebrated poet Kenneth Koch conveys the imaginative splendor of great poetry--by Blake, Donne, Stevens, Lorca, and others--and then shows how it maybe taught so as to help children write poetry of their own. For this edition, the author has written a new introduction and a special afterword for teachers.
$16.00 US
Jun 16, 1990
Paperback
416 Pages
Vintage

Ten Windows
How Great Poems Transform the World
978-0-345-80684-0
A dazzling collection of essays on how the best poems work, from the master poet and popular essayist
$20.00 US
Feb 21, 2017
Paperback
320 Pages
Knopf

Measure for Measure
An Anthology of Poetic Meters
978-0-375-71248-7
This comprehensive and joyous celebration of metered verse—from Shakespeare to slam poetry—brings together some of the best rhythmic lines in literature.
$14.95 US
Mar 31, 2015
Hardcover
256 Pages
Everyman's Library