Penguin Random House ALA Midwinter Award Winners & Honorees for Secondary Education

By Luis Diaz | February 3 2020 | General

Last week, the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter announced their 2020 literary award winners and honorees at its annual meeting. Below you can find which Penguin Random House titles appropriate for Middle School and High School students were among the winners.

To see which Elementary School titles were honored, click here.


Alex Award

The Nickel Boys
The Swallows
In Waves

Asian/Pacific American Award for Young Adult Literature

They Called Us Enemy

Stonewall Book Award – Barbara Gittings Literature Award

Cantoras

Printz Winner

Dig

CSK Author Honor

The Stars and Blackness Between Them

CSK Virginia Hamilton Award

Mildred D. Taylor (All the Days Past, All the Days to Come)

Schneider Family Book Award, Middle Grade Winner

Song for a Whale

Schneider Family Book Award Best Middle Grade Honor Book

Each Tiny Spark

Stonewall Honor

Pet

YALSA Morris Award Finalist & Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Young Adult Honor

Frankly in Love

YALSA Excellence In Nonfiction Award & Sydney Taylor Book Award Teen Notable

A Light in the Darkness

Sydney Taylor Book Award Winner – Middle Grade

White Bird: A Wonder Story

Sydney Taylor Book Award Winner – Teen

Someday We Will Fly

Sydney Taylor Book Honor – Teen Notable

Games of Deception

Printz Honor & Robert F. Sibert Honor Book

Ordinary Hazards

Sydney Taylor Book Honor – Middle Grade Notable

Rachel’s Roses

Schneider Family Book Award for Best Teen Book

Cursed

YALSA Excellence In Nonfiction Award

Great Nijinsky

American Indian Youth Literature Award – Young Adult Honor

An Indigenous Peoples’ History of the United States for Young People

The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
A Novel
978-0-385-53707-0
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
$24.95 US
Jul 16, 2019
Hardcover
224 Pages
Doubleday
Grades 9-12 + AP/IB

The Swallows
A Novel
978-1-9848-1823-2
A new teacher at a New England prep school ignites a gender war--with deadly consequences--in a provocative novel from the bestselling author of The Passenger and the Spellman Files series.
$27.00 US
Aug 13, 2019
Hardcover
416 Pages
Ballantine Books
Grades 9-12 + AP/IB

In Waves
978-1-910620-63-2
A tale of love, heartbreak and surfing from an important new voice in comics. In Waves is Craig Thompson's Blankets meets William Finnegan's Barbarian Days.
$18.95 US
Jun 04, 2019
Paperback
368 Pages
Nobrow
Grade 9 & Up

They Called Us Enemy
978-1-60309-450-4
New York Times Bestseller! A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II. Experience the forces that shaped an American icon -- and America itself -- in this gripping tale of courage, country, loyalty, and love.
$19.99 US
Jul 16, 2019
Paperback
208 Pages
Top Shelf Productions
Grades 6-12

Cantoras
A novel
978-0-525-52169-3
Cantoras is a revolutionary new novel about five wildly different women who, in the midst of the Uruguayan dictatorship, find one another as lovers, friends, and ultimately, family.
$26.95 US
Sep 03, 2019
Hardcover
336 Pages
Knopf
Grades 9-12 + AP/IB

Dig
978-1-101-99491-7
Acclaimed master of the YA novel A.S. King's eleventh book is a surreal and searing dive into the tangled secrets of a wealthy white family in suburban Pennsylvania and the terrible cost the family's children pay to maintain the family name.
$17.99 US
Mar 26, 2019
Hardcover
400 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Grade 9 & Up

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them
978-0-525-55548-3
Told in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus's bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both.
$17.99 US
Sep 17, 2019
Hardcover
320 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Grade 9 & Up

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come
978-0-399-25730-8
The saga of the Logan family--made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry--concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story.
$19.99 US
Jan 07, 2020
Hardcover
496 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Grade 9 & Up

Song for a Whale
978-1-5247-7023-5
In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.
$16.99 US
Feb 05, 2019
Hardcover
320 Pages
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Grades 3-7

Each Tiny Spark
978-0-451-47972-3
From award-winning author Pablo Cartaya comes a deeply moving middle grade novel about a daughter and father finding their way back to each other in the face of their changing family and community.
$16.99 US
Aug 06, 2019
Hardcover
336 Pages
Kokila
Grade 5 & Up

Pet
978-0-525-64707-2
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER "[A] beautiful, genre-expanding debut. . . . Pet is a nesting doll of creative possibilities." -The New York Times The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke Emezi that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look?
$17.99 US
Sep 10, 2019
Hardcover
208 Pages
Make Me a World
Grade 7 & Up


A Light in the Darkness
Janusz Korczak, His Orphans, and the Holocaust
978-1-5247-0120-8
From National Book Award Finalist Albert Marrin comes the moving story of Janusz Korczak, the heroic Polish Jewish doctor who devoted his life to children, perishing with them in the Holocaust.
$19.99 US
Sep 10, 2019
Hardcover
400 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Grade 7 & Up

White Bird: A Wonder Story
978-0-525-64553-5
Inspired by her blockbuster phenomenon Wonder, R. J. Palacio makes her graphic novel debut with an unforgettable story of the power of kindness and unrelenting courage in a time of war. "I was captivated by White Bird. It tells the hardest truths with honesty and calm (so that young readers can hear them). R.J.Palacio brings to life the nature of heroism and the real risks we face today." --Meg Medina, Newbery award-winning author of Mercy Suarez Changes Gears
$24.99 US
Oct 01, 2019
Hardcover
224 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Grades 3-7

Someday We Will Fly
978-0-670-01496-5
From the author of Blind, a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story set during World War II in Shanghai, one of the only places Jews without visas could find refuge.
$18.99 US
Jan 22, 2019
Hardcover
368 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Grade 7 & Up

Games of Deception
The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany
978-0-525-51463-3
*"Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don't appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner." --School Library Connection, starred review *"A must for all library collections." --Booklist, starred review Winner of the 2020 AJL Sidney Taylor Honor! From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler's Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken.
$18.99 US
Nov 05, 2019
Hardcover
240 Pages
Philomel Books
Grade 7 & Up

Ordinary Hazards
A Memoir
978-1-62979-881-3
"This powerful story, told with the music of poetry and the blade of truth, will help your heart grow."--Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Shout "[A] testimony and a triumph."--Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down In her own voice, acclaimed author and poet Nikki Grimes explores the truth of a harrowing childhood in a compelling and moving memoir in verse.
$19.99 US
Oct 08, 2019
Hardcover
336 Pages
Wordsong
Grade 7 & Up

Rachel's Roses
978-0-8234-4365-9
Rachel Berger needs twenty-five cents to make her dream come true. But for Rachel, twenty-five cents is a fortune--and she's running out of time. A Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable Title
$15.99 US
Aug 20, 2019
Hardcover
112 Pages
Holiday House
Grades 2-5

Cursed
978-1-58089-940-6
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award! A debut novel for fans of The Fault in Our Stars that thoughtfully and humorously depicts teen Ricky Bloom's struggles with a recent chronic illness diagnosis.
$17.99 US
Jun 25, 2019
Hardcover
336 Pages
Charlesbridge Teen
Grade 7 & Up

The Great Nijinsky
God of Dance
978-1-58089-800-3
Dance prodigy, sex symbol, gay pioneer, cultural icon--Vaslav Nijinsky rose to fame as the star of the Ballets Russes in Paris before mental illness stole his career and the last thirty years of his life. A tragic story of a great genius, this compelling work of narrative nonfiction chronicles a life of obsessive artistry, celebrity, and notoriety.
$19.99 US
Apr 09, 2019
Hardcover
120 Pages
Charlesbridge Teen
Grade 7 & Up

An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People
978-0-8070-4939-6
Spanning more than 400 years, this classic bottom-up history examines the legacy of Indigenous peoples' resistance, resilience, and steadfast fight against imperialism.
$18.95 US
Jul 23, 2019
Paperback
272 Pages
Beacon Press
Grades 6-12

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
978-0-14-038451-2
The stunning repackage of a timeless Newbery Award Winner, with cover art by two-time Caldecott Honor Award winner Kadir Nelson!With the land to hold them together, nothing can tear the Logans apart. Why is the land so important to Cassie's family? It takes the events of one turbulent year—the year of the night riders and the burnings, the year a white girl humiliates Cassie in public simply because she is black—to show Cassie that having a place of their own is the Logan family's lifeblood. It is the land that gives the Logans their courage and pride, for no matter how others may degrade them, the Logans possess soemthing no one can take away. "[Taylor] writes not with rancor or bitterness of indignities, but with pride, strength, and respect for humanity."—The New York Times Book Review "The vivid story of a black family whose warm ties to each other and their land give them strength to defy rural Southern racism during the Depression . . . Entirely through its own internal development, the novel shows the rich inner rewards of black pride, love, and independence despite the certainty of outer defeat."—Booklist, starred review * Newbery Medal winner * A National Book Award Nominee * American Book Award Honor Book * An ALA Notable Book * A NCSS-CBC Notable Children's Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies * A Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Book
$8.99 US
Nov 27, 2001
Paperback
304 Pages
Puffin Books
Grade 5 & Up

Tags: ,