Congratulations to our 2023 ALA Award Winners & Honorees

By Kaitlyn Spotts | February 8 2023 | GeneralConferences

The American Library Association (ALA) announced their 2023 literary award winners and honorees during LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience. Below you can find a selection of Penguin Random House titles that were among the winners.

 

Explore the collection of award winners and honorees here.

 

Alex Award

Solito

True Biz

A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting

 

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award Winner

American Murderer

 

Printz Award Winner

All My Rage

 

Stonewall YA Book Award Honor

Man o’ War

Kings of B’more

 

Schneider Family Book Book Award (Teen) Winner

The Words We Keep

  

Sydney Taylor Book Award Young Adult Honor

Eight Nights of Flirting

 

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner

The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen

 

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

Hell Followed With Us

 

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

An Immense World

 

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

The Swimmers

 

ALA Notable Books Fiction

The Furrows

Horse

The Haunting of Hajji Hotak and Other Stories

The Rabbit Hutch

The Swimmers

 

ALA Notable Books Nonfiction

An Immense World

His Name Is George Floyd

Under the Skin

 

ALA Notable Books Poetry

Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head

 

Sophie Brody Medal 

The Man Who Sold Air in the Holy Land

Solito
A Memoir
978-0-593-49806-4
A young poet tells the inspiring story of his migration from El Salvador to the United States at the age of nine in this “gripping memoir” (NPR) of bravery, hope, and finding family.  
$28.00 US
Sep 06, 2022
Hardcover
400 Pages
Hogarth

True Biz
A Novel
978-0-593-24152-3
A “tender, beautiful and radiantly outraged” (The New York Times Book Review) novel that follows a year of seismic romantic, political, and familial shifts for a teacher and her students at a boarding school for the deaf, from the acclaimed author of Girl at War
$18.00 US
Feb 28, 2023
Paperback
416 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks

American Murderer
The Parasite that Haunted the South
978-1-68437-815-9
What made workers in the American South so tired and feeble during the 19th and early 20th centuries? This exciting medical mystery uncovers the secrets of the parasite hookworm, commonly known as the “American Murderer,” and is the latest title in Gail Jarrow’s (YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults award-winning author) Medical Fiascoes series.
$24.99 US
Sep 27, 2022
Hardcover
160 Pages
Calkins Creek

All My Rage
A Novel
978-0-593-20234-0
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir comes a brilliant, unforgettable, and heart-wrenching contemporary YA novel about family and forgiveness, love and loss, in a sweeping story that crosses generations and continents.
$19.99 US
Mar 01, 2022
Hardcover
384 Pages
Razorbill

Man o' War
978-0-593-35370-7
An achingly honest and frequently hilarious coming-of-age novel about an Arab American trans swimmer fighting to keep their head above water in a landlocked Midwestern town.
$18.99 US
May 31, 2022
Hardcover
336 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers

Kings of B'more
978-0-593-32618-3
"Infused with all the joy of the best teen movies, Kings of B'more is sure to be a big hit." —BuzzFeedTwo Black queer best friends face their last day together with an epic journey through Baltimore in this magnetic YA debut by bestselling author of Here for It, R. Eric Thomas.
$18.99 US
May 31, 2022
Hardcover
416 Pages
Kokila

The Words We Keep
978-1-9848-4886-4
WINNER OF THE SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD FOR TEENS!A beautifully realistic, relatable story about mental health—anxiety, perfectionism, depression—and the healing powers of art—perfect for fans of Girl in Pieces and How it Feels to Float. Whatever you struggle with, you are not alone and you are already enough—just the way you are.
$19.99 US
Mar 15, 2022
Hardcover
400 Pages
Delacorte Press

Eight Nights of Flirting
978-0-593-34975-5
A Sydney Taylor Honor BookA sixteen-year-old girl is on a mission to find the perfect boyfriend this Hanukkah, but love might not go according to plan, in this charming winter romcom from the author of The Summer of Lost Letters.
$19.99 US
Oct 25, 2022
Hardcover
400 Pages
Razorbill

The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
978-0-593-52582-1
LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD!A WILLIAM C. MORRIS AWARD WINNER!The Chosen meets Adam Silvera in this irreverent and timely story of worlds colliding in friendship, betrayal, and the hatred that divides us.
$18.99 US
Sep 13, 2022
Hardcover
224 Pages
Philomel Books

Hell Followed with Us
978-1-68263-324-3
A furious, queer debut novel about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.
$18.99 US
Jun 07, 2022
Hardcover
416 Pages
Peachtree Teen

An Immense World
How Animal Senses Reveal the Hidden Realms Around Us
978-0-593-13323-1
Selected for common reading by Stanford University
$30.00 US
Jun 21, 2022
Hardcover
464 Pages
Random House

The Swimmers
A novel (CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR EXCELLENCE WINNER)
978-0-593-46662-9
Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction
$17.00 US
Jan 24, 2023
Paperback
192 Pages
Vintage

The Haunting of Hajji Hotak and Other Stories
978-0-593-29719-3
FINALIST FOR THE 2022 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTIONWINNER OF THE 2023 ASPEN WORDS LITERARY PRIZE, AND THE 2023 O. HENRY PRIZE NAMED ONE OF THE NEW YORKER'S BEST BOOKS OF 2022"An endlessly inventive and moving collection from a thrilling and capacious young talent." —Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins.A luminous new collection of stories from a young writer who “has brought his culture’s rich history, mythology, and lyricism to American letters.” —Sandra Cisneros
$26.00 US
Jul 19, 2022
Hardcover
288 Pages
Viking

The Rabbit Hutch
A novel
978-0-593-53466-3
The Rabbit Hutch is a stunning debut novel about four teenagers—recently aged out of the state foster-care system—living together in an apartment building in the post-industrial Midwest, exploring the quest for transcendence and the desire for love.
$28.00 US
Aug 02, 2022
Hardcover
352 Pages
Knopf

Under the Skin
The Hidden Toll of Racism on American Lives and on the Health of Our Nation
978-0-385-54488-7
Winner of the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize
$30.00 US
Jun 14, 2022
Hardcover
288 Pages
Doubleday

Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head
Poems
978-0-593-13435-1
Poems of migration, womanhood, trauma, and resilience from the celebrated collaborator on Beyoncé's Lemonade and Black Is King, award-winning Somali British poet Warsan Shire.
$17.00 US
Mar 01, 2022
Paperback
96 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks