Mental Health of Teen Girls

By Kaitlyn Spotts | April 3 2023 | GeneralEducation & Professional LearningHealth, Sports, Games, and CraftsHigh SchoolMiddle School

There has been a dramatic rise in poor mental health for teen girls over the past year. According to Reuters, “nearly three in five high school girls reported feeling sad or hopeless in 2021, representing a 60% increase over the past decade, and fared worse than boys of the same age across nearly all measures of mental health, U.S. government data showed.”

Bringing essential mental health education into schools is crucial to create a safe and welcoming environment that encourages students to connect with their peers and seek help. We created two collections to foster meaningful conversations around mental health issues among teenage girls.

Mental Health of Teen Girls: Books for Students

Mental Health of Teen Girls: Books for Educators

Girls on the Brink
Helping Our Daughters Thrive in an Era of Increased Anxiety, Depression, and Social Media
978-0-593-23307-8
15 revelatory strategies for raising emotionally healthy girls, based on cutting-edge science that explains the modern pressures that make it so difficult for adolescent girls to thrive
$28.00 US
Sep 13, 2022
Hardcover
320 Pages
Harmony

Growing Up Powerful
A Guide to Keeping Confident When Your Body Is Changing, Your Mind Is Racing, and the World Is . . . Complicated
978-1-953424-45-7
The Confidence Code for Girls meets The Care & Keeping of You in this bold, bighearted book about growing up with unshakable confidence.
$20.00 US
May 09, 2023
Paperback
288 Pages
Rebel Girls

Reviving Ophelia 25th Anniversary Edition

Under Pressure
Confronting the Epidemic of Stress and Anxiety in Girls
978-0-399-18007-1
An urgently-needed guide to the alarming increase in anxiety and stress experienced by girls from elementary school through college, a New York Times bestseller from the author of Untangled.
$18.00 US
Feb 11, 2020
Paperback
304 Pages
Ballantine Books

Queen Bees and Wannabes, 3rd Edition
Helping Your Daughter Survive Cliques, Gossip, Boys, and the New Realities of Girl World
978-1-101-90305-6
Now in paperback, the revised and updated edition of Rosalind Wiseman's New York Times bestselling Queen Bees and Wannabes includes new strategies on how to deal with technology and a new chapter on video games in the lives of girls today, based on work with a new group of teen editors.
$17.99 US
Jul 26, 2016
Paperback
448 Pages
Harmony

Imposter Syndrome and Other Confessions of Alejandra Kim
978-0-593-56337-3
A multicultural teen struggles to fit into her elite prep school, her diverse Queens neighborhood, and even her own home. A hilarious, poignant, and powerful YA novel from the award-winning author of Re Jane.
$18.99 US
Feb 21, 2023
Hardcover
304 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers

Chlorine Sky
978-0-593-17642-9
A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Nikki Grimes and Jason Reynolds."Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA is an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X
$10.99 US
Feb 07, 2023
Paperback
192 Pages
Ember

What I Like About Me
978-1-68263-278-9
Plus-sized sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin never thought she had the figure to compete in a beauty pageant, but this vacation is about to change everything.Maisie has spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone: her gorgeous best friend, her pageant-winning sister, and definitely her longtime crush. Never one to jump in the water, Maisie is planning on taking it easy while her friends chill at the beach.But then her BFF starts flirting with the boy she's always loved, her older sister comes home and steals the spotlight, and Maisie has found herself pushed aside like usual. Except now, she's had enough. After forging new friendships, Maisie takes the deep dive and enters the local Miss Teen Queen. Now, with all eyes on her, can Maisie prove she has a place in the spotlight?This contemporary young adult novel is as relatable as it is charming and Maisie's realistic journey towards confidence and self-love will draw readers in as she learns how to celebrate all of herself.
$9.99 US
Apr 06, 2021
Paperback
304 Pages
Peachtree