TIME Presents the 100 Best YA Books of All Time

By Kaitlyn Spotts | August 17 2021 | GeneralHigh SchoolMiddle School

TIME recently shared its list of the 100 Best YA Books of All Time. This definitive list was curated by a panel of celebrated YA authors, and includes the most compelling, enlightening, and influential young-adult books, all in chronological order beginning in the 1800s.  The list includes over 30 titles from Penguin Random House and its distribution partners.

Browse the collection

Little Women
978-0-593-19802-5
In time for the new major feature film, a timeless new edition of one of the most beloved novels in American literature.
$6.99 US
Nov 19, 2019
Mass Market Paperback
528 Pages
Signet
Grades 6-12 + AP/IB

The Diary of a Young Girl
The Definitive Edition
978-0-553-57712-9
Edited by Otto H. Frank and Mirjam Pressler, the Definitive Edition of Anne Frank's diary features 30% new material. It restores all of the entries omitted from previous publications-including Anne's observations about her emerging sexuality and her stormy relationship with her mother.
$7.99 US
Feb 03, 1997
Mass Market Paperback
400 Pages
Bantam
Grades 6-12 + AP/IB

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
40th Anniversary Special Edition
978-1-101-99388-0
A stunning repackage of Mildred D. Taylor's Newbery Award-winning masterpiece with cover art by two-time Caldecott Honor Award winner Kadir Nelson and an introduction by Jacqueline Woodson, just in time for its 40th Anniversary!
$19.99 US
Jan 05, 2016
Hardcover
304 Pages
Dial Books
Grades 6-12

Holes
978-0-440-41480-3
The Newbery and National Book Award Winner turns 20 years old! This New York Times bestseller is one of the most consistent, strongest-selling middle grade books to ever hit shelves--and now it has special anniversary bonus content--to help it to continue to outsell the competition year after year!
$8.99 US
May 09, 2000
Paperback
272 Pages
Yearling
Grades 6-8

Akata Witch
978-0-14-242091-1
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world--for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.
$10.99 US
Jul 11, 2017
Paperback
384 Pages
Speak
Grade 7 & Up

The Fault in Our Stars
978-0-14-242417-9
The beloved, #1 global bestseller by John Green, author of The Anthropocene Reviewed and Turtles All the Way Down“John Green is one of the best writers alive.” –E. Lockhart, #1 bestselling author of We Were Liars“The greatest romance story of this decade.″ –Entertainment Weekly#1 New York Times Bestseller • #1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller • #1 USA Today Bestseller • #1 International BestsellerDespite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.From John Green, #1 bestselling author of The Anthropocene Reviewed and Turtles All the Way Down, The Fault in Our Stars is insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw. It brilliantly explores the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.
$12.99 US
Apr 08, 2014
Paperback
352 Pages
Penguin Books
Grade 9 & Up

I'll Give You the Sun
978-0-14-242576-3
The Printz Medal winner and Stonewall Honor book comes to Speak!
$11.99 US
Oct 27, 2015
Paperback
400 Pages
Dial Books
Grade 9 & Up

Dear Martin
978-1-101-93952-9
A #1 New York Times bestseller! "Raw and gripping." -Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys "A must-read!" -Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning debut.
$9.99 US
Sep 04, 2018
Paperback
240 Pages
Ember
Grade 9 & Up

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
978-1-5247-0051-5
The National Book Award Finalist and instant New York Times bestseller that's partThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian and part Jane the Virgin.
$11.99 US
Mar 05, 2019
Paperback
368 Pages
Ember
Grade 9 & Up

We Are Okay
978-0-14-242293-9
Winner of the 2018 Michael L. Printz Award -- An achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship.
$10.99 US
Feb 26, 2019
Paperback
256 Pages
Penguin Books
Grade 9 & Up

Pet
978-0-593-17544-6
Now in paperback, the National Book Award finalist and genre-defying novel by award-winning author Akwaeke Emezi that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look?
$9.99 US
Jan 19, 2021
Paperback
208 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Grade 7 & Up


More Happy Than Not (Deluxe Edition)
978-1-64129-194-1
The New York Times bestseller comes out in a deluxe edition featuring an introduction by Angie Thomas, and a brand new bonus ending.
$10.99 US
Sep 08, 2020
Paperback
352 Pages
Soho Teen
Grade 9 & Up

Tags: ,